Dear Tampon String

Dear Tampon String,

Today you have caused hilarity, my friend informed me her 3 year old saw her tampon string in the shower. Her daughter was convinced Mummy has a balloon up there. Haha Brilliant! My friend explained it was something ladies used, and since she was happy with that level of explanation and, not wanting to scare her toddler just yet about the monthly bleeding (although her 5year old knows all about it), her Mum left it at that for the time being. Perfect age and stage appropriate sex education if you ask me.

This reminded me of when I was a toddler and saw my mum’s tampon string and was told “it’s something to do with making babies” which confused me more than anything else. I thought that a tampon was some kind of plug and when you pulled it out then the babies could start popping out again. Clearly I had a rudimentary albeit erroneous understanding of contraception from a young age!

So dear tampon string you cause a befuddlement for toddler’s everywhere. How do other mother’s explain you? As I’m breastfeeding, not a conversation I need to worry about for a good while until the old menstruation resumes but I have a modern eco dilemma, no tampon string but how the feck am I going to explain a mooncup full of blood to a toddler!? Seriously anyone got any advice for that situation?

Lots of period and discharge talking love,

LadyCurd (for once my name needs no further additions)

Dear Tampon String
About LadyCurd

Likes ladybirds & lemon curd. On reflection combining the two names was a mistake.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

